Post-ALA Race Fatigue

This woman puts shame and stigma on people who really do have trauma and PTSD like myself who suffered 5 years of sexual abuse by my step brother. So please if you read this shit, make sure to tell this woman what harm she is doing to genuine PTSD suffers, because this is fucking disgusting.

Fuck you.

At The Intersection

I just spent the last 5 days at the American Library Association annual conference in Chicago, and I am suffering serious race fatigue.

Race fatigue is a real physical, mental, and emotional condition that people of color experience after spending a considerable amount of time dealing with the micro- and macro-aggressions that inevitably occur when in the presence of white people. The more white people, the longer the time period, the more intense the race fatigue.

My ALA Annual 2017 conference badge

I usually come back from conferences pretty exhausted anyway. I’m an introvert, an over-achiever, and an over-joiner, so I’m always faced with having to be conscious about taking breaks, saying no, and engaging in other forms of self-care. But when you combine that with 5 days of being talked at, over, and through by folks in a profession that’s 88% white…well, let’s just say I hit my…

View original post 361 more words

Leave a Reply

